Hopkins Avenue Passenger Station

This passenger depot, called the Hopkins Avenue Station, was the only one in Norwood not built entirely by a railroad company (although the "Northern" may have placed a platform there previously, and furnished some of the materials and labor for the depot construction). The building provided a much needed station — especially during bad weather — on the Cincinnati, Lebanon & Northern Railroad for the residents between the Ivanhoe and Smith Road Stations. The building was also used for community activities and businesses. Today, it is the only remaining of the old passenger stations, and is used as a chiropractor's office. Des Jardins, the architect, had designed several homes and buildings in Norwood (and Cincinnati and its suburbs), but few remain. The following clippings from the Cincinnati Times-Star show the progress of the effort to build that station.

Tuesday, November 1, 1887:
    "Down at South Norwood the people nearest Hopkins avenue are shivering over the idea that they will be without a depot this winter."

Wednesday, November 2, 1887:
    "Hopkins avenue commuters on the Northern want a $1,500 depot, but they have not succeeded in raising the necessary funds. Bofinger & Hopkins have promised $500 provided the other $1,000 is subscribed. Present appearances indicate that South Norwood folks will have to carry their own stoves to the platform this winter if they want to keep warm."

Thursday, December 29, 1887:
    "Norwood thermometers registered all the way from zero to 6° above. ... Hopkins avenue people were not complaining of an insufficiency of ventilation about their platform this morning. The depot-less station has been given the name of 'Point Airy.' It will stick."

Tuesday, March 6, 1888:
    "As this is about 'breaking ground' time in the suburbs it is hoped that sufficient funds will be subscribed to warrant the Depot Committee to go ahead and build this much needed shelter at South Norwood. The number of commuters is increasing daily, and something should be done very soon to relieve a much suffering community."

Tuesday, March 13, 1888:
    "Efforts are again being made to get that station at Hopkins avenue. If perseverance has anything to do with it, the station will be built in the near future."

Friday, March 16, 1888:
    "Before the ides of another March are due the wind that now whistles through the whiskers of the Hopkins avenue commuters on the Northern will find its occupation gone. The depot fund is growing rapidly, and $920 of the $1,250 needed has been raised. Messrs. Bofinger & Hopkins have given the lion's share—$500, and the rest is made up of $5 and $10 subscriptions. Messrs. George Bonte, George T. Hipple and Jackson Slane are members of the committee that have been hard at work. The Cincinnati, Lebanon & Northern Railway will furnish material and labor in lieu of cash."

Tuesday, April 10, 1888:
    "The Committee on Depot in South Norwood are progressing finely in regard to plans and subscriptions. The Finance Committee respectfully request such subscribers to the fund that have not done so to stop up to the Captain's office and settle, as they are desirous of proceeding at once, if possible, with the work."

Tuesday, April 17, 1888:
    "Work on the South Norwood depot will be commenced at once. The plans by Architect Des Jardins show it to be one of the prettiest in the suburbs."

Monday, June 4, 1888:
    "Ground has been broken for the Northern Depot, at Hopkins avenue."

Saturday, June 9, 1888:
A Depot for Norwood
(Special by Telegraph to the Times-Star)
    "Columbus, O., June 9–The Hopkins Avenue Depot Company, of Norwood, Hamilton County, organized for the purpose of erecting a depot on Hopkins avenue, at the Cincinnati, Lebanon & Northern Railroad Crossing, with a capital stock of $4,000, was incorporated to-day by G. Edward Mills, C. E. Page, Robert Leslie, Geo. H. Bonte, C. F. Husser, Jackson Slane and D. H. Whitehead."

Friday, June 22 1888:
    "The stockholders of the South Norwood Depot Association elected Geo. T. Hipple, R. M. Wickersham, C. E. Pape, C. F. Hesser, Jackson Slane, J. K. Graybill and Edward Mills directors, after which the directors met and elected Jackson Slane President, E. Mills Treasurer and Dr. J. K. Graybill Secretary."